The Ashes 2019 Preview: All you need to know

The Ashes 2019

The Ashes 2019 is an upcoming series of Test Cricket matches to be played between England and Australia. The Venues for upcoming ashes are Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford and The Oval.

Why is it called The Ashes?

The term begins from The Sporting Life paper, which in 1882 distributed an ironical eulogy of English cricket after Australia had beaten England at The Oval – the first time the tourists won a game on English soil.

The piece expressed that “the body [of English cricket] will be incinerated and the ashes taken to Australia.”

The accompanying Test series was in this manner named by the media as an endeavor to win the ‘ashes’ of cricket back, with then-England cricket skipper Ivo Bligh vowing to “regain those ashes”.

The name has stuck for well over a century.

Why Ashes Trophy is so small?

The Ashes urn is a small urn made of terracotta and about six inches, accepted to contain the ashes of a burnt cricket bail. It was presented to Ivo Bligh, the skipper of the England cricket team, as a personal gift after an exhibition match facilitated at Rupertswood manor in Sunbury during the 1882–83 visit in Australia.

After his demise the urn was presented to the Marylebone Cricket Club, which has it in plain view at Lord’s cricket ground in London. The urn has come to be unequivocally connected with ‘The Ashes’, the prize for which England and Australia are said to contend in Test series between the two nations.

Who won The Ashes in 2018?

Australia are current holders of The Ashes, having won the series 4-0.

Which team has won The Ashes the most occasions?

For a series that has continued for over 130 years, the general count is surprisingly close.

Altogether there have been 70 series. Australia – 33, England – 32, and five have been drawn.

  Played Won by Australia Won by England Drawn
All Test 330 134 106 90
Tests in Australia 167 86 56 25
Tests in England 163 48 50 60
All Series 70 33 32 5
Series in Australia 35 19 14 2
Series in England 35 14 18 3

The Ashes 2019 schedule

Dates Details Venue Time
Thursday 1st – Monday 5th August 2019 1st Test Edgbaston, Birmingham 3:30 PM IST
Wednesday 14th – Sunday 18th August 2019 2nd Test Lord’s, London 3:30 PM IST
Thursday 22nd – Monday 26th August 2019 3rd Test Headingley, Leeds 3:30 PM IST
Wednesday 4th – Sunday 8th September 2019 4th Test Old Trafford, Manchester 3:30 PM IST
Thursday 12th – Monday 16th September 2019 5th Test The Oval, London 3:30 PM IST

The Ashes 2019 Betting and Odds Preview

The upcoming series will be held in September 2019 in England, where the hosts will try and regain those ashes once again.

Event Date: 1 August – 16 September 2019


JeetWin is operated by Sky Infotech Limited, Belize company registration number 167038, having its enrolled location at 9 Barrack Road, Belize City, Belize. The site offers a casino and sportsbook with a long list of sports options and plenty of exciting markets.

Cricket is featured in Jeetwin offer, The Ashes included with England being the slight favourite over the Aussies (1.71 vs. 2.75)

Jeetwin also offers betting on a draw, which is the unlikeliest option, and the one with the highest odds. The odds for the draw are 7.00, but considering the fact that only 5 series have ended in a tie, we wouldn’t be so disposed to stake on it.

For complete access to casino games and sports betting, register here! To place winning bets on sports or games after signing up, visit JeetWin now. Also, you may follow our blog posts for more casino and sports-related articles!

You may also like